a bipolar disorder linkdump.

It was fair to call it depression. She felt like shit, all the time. If that was depression, she had it. It must have been contagious. She’d caught it from the world. Lev Grossman – The Magician’s Land

(Just a note about the quote – the Magicians trilogy has some interesting mental illness angles woven into it, in various minor ways. Not a reason to read the books necessarily, but a cool aspect of them.)

Okaaay… Nice quote, nice song… Now letsgosmackabitch!

What the actual fucking fuck!? Here’s some more proof that we don’t need celebrity spokesfuckwits. Clearly she hasn’t bothered with, oh, actual knowledge, or she wouldn’t be handing out shit like….

I’m not the kind of person who likes to shout out my personal issues from the rooftops but with my bipolar becoming public, I hope fellow sufferers will know it is completely controllable. ‘There are very low lows’ Catherine Zeta-Jones opens up about battle with bipolar disorder. ‘A lot of that is to do with the fact that I’m much more knowledgeable about what I call my pain in the ass!” the star added.

Completely. Controllable. Does she even know her ass from her elbow? Bipolar is hard to treat and it can take years to get someone into remission – it can also never happen. Irresponsible, stupid celebrity. BAD CATHERINE ZETA-JONES Y U NO SHUSH!? Idiot!

image

Frank Bruno has also been talking bollocks…

I’d love to tell the PM how much we need to help improve the after-care people get when they leave hospital. I’d warn him how, all too often, people are given drugs and told they must stay on them for years. That might not be right for them. Often, using diet and exercise to treat their condition is far better. Frank Bruno’s open letter to fans and plea to the Prime Minister

Alright it’s not the only thing the poor chap has been talking nonsense about lately *cough*returntothering*cough*, but still. Shut up. Poor chap.

In the battle against stigma, I’m beginning to wonder whose side they’re on. Of course, if they’re waging war against knowledge, they’re winning hands down.

I think I like the interviewer in the next one…

Katie Holmes quizzed about bipolar disorder by same presenter who grilled ex-husband Tom Cruise

A glib? It’s not a noun.

No foray into asshattery about bipolar disorder these days would be complete without an update on the Charlie Sheen thing. The screamo tabloid headline shrieks, ‘POSSESSED’ & MANIC! Dr. Oz Reveals The Truth Behind Charlie Sheen’s Bipolar Claims and then lets you down hard with:

“[Charlie is] not diagnosed [as bipolar], but he has manic episodes. There is a mania to what he does,” Dr. Oz told PEOPLE magazine at the premiere of Touched with Fire, a new flick starring Katie Holmes that centers on the disorder. “I actually connected him to a world expert psychiatrist in bipolar and they are talking…He’s making inroads. He was very resistant to this possibility. The fact of the matter is, if he doesn’t banish this, he’s going to keep making the same mistakes he’s been making. “

image

Snore. On to saner things. I haven’t watched the new Stephen Fry documentary yet – I found the following bit of a review incredibly heartbreaking.

First, he catches up with Cordelia who featured in the original series. Cordelia was diagnosed with bipolar disorder while she was studying at Oxford University, but is still unhappy with the medication and treatment she has been given for the condition. Since the original documentary she’s also been diagnosed with terminal cancer, but says that it is the lesser of two evils. “Breast cancer doesn’t annoy me all the time. It’s not like I think about it every day in the way that I think about my mental disorder every day,” she says. “Depression is just worse than anything…it’s mental agony.” ‘The Not So Secret Life Of The Manic Depressive’: Stephen Fry On How Life Has Changed For People With Bipolar Disorder In 10 Years.

Back in the days where the luckiest of us got comfortable lunatic asylums…

Her mental instability was noted by friends including the author Virginia Woolf who described her in 1932 as a “poor raddled distressing woman, takes drugs”.
TS Eliot letters reveal anguish over failure of first marriage. Correspondence to be published this month challenges view that poet was cold towards his wife Vivien as she suffered mental illness

Talking about talking… I got the impression that the following column was written for v e r y  s t u p i d  p e o p l e.

Talking therapies don’t necessarily make voices stop, for example, or stop someone ever feeling sad or manic, but they are often good at helping people make sense of their experiences and notice unhelpful patterns in thinking or behaviour which can be influenced. Talking about what is happening in a structured way can help someone reduce confusion, shame and loneliness, maintain relationships, and carry on with as much of their life as possible. It might also help to be able to talk about past traumas which may have contributed to current difficulties.  NICE critique: a call for more research, not an excuse for less treatment

My first, uncharitable thought about the next one was, “it’s a planking baby,” but it isn’t…

ArtPic: Gerri Harden illustrates the struggle of mental illness

Despite the blatant seo whoring, the next one is a pretty decent stab at it, on the whole.

6 Things People With Bipolar Disorder Want You To Know: ‘I Am Not Jekyll And Hyde’

Town gets its lithia water shut down because of barium. Eh, just read it, it made me smile.

An international group of psychopharmacologists now feels that the nomenclature for classifying psychiatric medication is outdated. They cite (for example) patient concerns about being prescribed a so-called antidepressant for an anxiety disorder. What’s With These Names in Mental Health Care?

We (society) seem to spend an awful lot of time talking about how we talk about our disorder and its treatment. Why, why, why aren’t we shouting louder for better treatment? We pay our tithe at the altar of Big Pharma and worship at the church of the stigma buster. If stigma decreases, will my medication improve?

We shall now seek that which we shall not find. —Sir Thomas Malory, Le Morte D’Arthur

Crest BD Bipolar Disorder Quality of Life Tool – do a survey, measure your quality of life and see which aspects need improvement. Free registration allows you to track it over time. It made me go, meh I think it’s more useful for their research than it is for me, but I’m prone to that sort of thinking anyway.

Childhood abuse and neglect can lead to a range of negative outcomes in patients with bipolar disorder warns a study. Bipolar patients with a history of childhood maltreatment developed the depressive mental condition more than four years earlier than patients with no history of maltreatment, revealed the study. In addition, they were almost twice as likely to attempt suicide and nearly four times more likely to have a diagnosis of post-traumatic stress disorder. Also, up to 15 percent of people with bipolar disorder die by suicide, the research, published in The Lancet Psychiatry, showed. 

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

23 thoughts on “a bipolar disorder linkdump.”

  1. First off, I’m thrilled you brought back the link dump!!! Thank you, thank you!!!!

    Okay, just a couple things….

    1) I started watching the “The Not So Secret Manic Depressive” BBC documentary but it suddenly stopped working. To view it, I used Hulu. In the past I’ve used Tor Browser so I could watch UK shows, but that way stopped working.

    ANYWAY as I began watching Fry, I got the error message of:
    “You do not have enough bandwidth”
    That totally flabbergasted me! The word “bandwidth” is currently a very bad, icky one in my head. I wrote about it my latest blog post. So I gave up watching and figured I’d see it when it comes out on YouTube,.

    2) Charlie Sheen needs to do the world a favor, become a monk and go here:

    XOXOXOXOX

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’ll teach you to call the country of my birth stupid ;D I’ll maybe watch it soon idk. Lol yes let’s send Charlie to the tigers, good idea. What an ass. Thanks v much for reading and commenting :)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi. I know I keep promising to write but back up with my parents and without wifi. Your comments here make me think about how in my own family, being moody or irritable is an instant sign of bipolar, as if manic is a fleeting stage. Of course it is my mother and my one brother who see themselves as*sane* who are making the call.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on Birth of a New Brain and commented:
    Friends, how are you?

    I try to stick to sharing one post a week, and I try to avoid reblogging. However, I’m posting three times this week and 2 of those posts are reblogs, LOL!

    During 2014 I posted mostly original content every day, but that will never happen again, I promise you. I’m still not sure how I was able to do it! I’m dead serious. it might have been mild hypomania due to taking Seroquel but I’ll never really know. It certainly no longer has that affect on me now – I get groggy and sluggy instead.

    So, why another reblog within a few days?

    I’m giving you a free gift! IBlahpolar’s blog. I love it! It’s my favorite blog out of the roughly 50 or so I follow. (Every other blog I follow is awesome! But there can only be one #1. Hence, Blahpolar.)

    Blahpolar is brilliant, funny, sometimes heartbreaking, – she often provides fabulous resources, and she’s absolutely unique in our blogosphere.

    Blahpolar resides in South Africa and has a wicked talent for creating memes that will make you chuckle and sometimes even guffaw.Be sure to take a look at her meme page on her blog. She created my Lucy MD meme and I plan on sticking that work of art on a t-shirt, coffee mug and blanket (yes, you can do that now) soon.

    One of Blah’s regular features is the linkdump in which she compiles all kinds of recent bipolar-related articles she has gathered from every corner of the world. I always find at least couple links I’m intensely interested to explore.

    So please, do yourself a favor, and start following Blahpolar. Enjoy this linkdump and try not to let that grisly image of Charlie Sheen make you lose your appetite.

    I promise Friday’s post will be short – i.e. under 500 words. Anyone want to bet me $1 I can do it???

    Be well,
    Dyane

    Liked by 3 people

      1. I feel so sorry for Sheen’s kids – and he has a lot. :(((( p.s. you’re welcome p.p.s. how’s this for funny? On Twitter I subscribe to the daily “PostPartum Post” that a lot of postpartum medical professionals/heavy hitters check out – and the Postpartum Post picked that blog post as one of their headlines for its “entertainment/leisure section! :) Great taste, I’d say!!!! XOXO

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve NEVER liked Catherine Zeta-Jones… what an idiot, for fuck sake ‘controlable’??? And DON’T give me the ‘diet and exercise’ bullshit – that’s so 80’s! I like your point about cost and efficacy of meds. No, sorry….wtf Gerri Harden….I think she needs some talk therapies. Love your linkdumps <3

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think people like CZJ are entitled to their opinions, but they should recognize that they are opinions and that they don’t speak for bipolar disorder as a whole when they say “completely treatable.” It’s fairly well established that for some people, this is the case, and for others, this is not the case, and the two camps need to get some perspective and recognize that it’s very skewed thinking to make a sweeping statement that bipolar is either “completely treatable” or “completely untreatable.” I don’t know why some people seem to get on okay with one treatment and not with another, or why some people need meds their whole life and others don’t; if I did I’d be very rich from isolating that and bottling it as a cure for bipolar, but all I can see is that everyone responds differently.

    Regarding Frank Bruno, he has a very valid point, but he’s been taken out of context to assume he’s talking from a worldwide perspective when he’s actually talking from a UK perspective. In the UK (as I’m sure you know), 99.9% of the time, you will not see a psychiatrist or they diagnose by reading the notes, and the rest of the time you see a psych nurse whose job is to maintain the status quo. They aren’t listening when people say “hey my medication doesn’t work” and when you wait 6 weeks for an appointment and they say “see how you feel next time” that’s 3 months lost every time. So you fight for a diagnosis, then they do this afterwards, and you wonder, why did I fight so hard for a diagnosis that I thought would lead to me getting my life back? This isn’t living! This is worse, because people who DO have a chance at moving forward aren’t getting it.

    Last year, they refused me an abortion because the words bipolar disorder were on my medical records despite the fact that mental health is one of the only two legal reasons you’re allowed an abortion in the UK (excl. NI where it’s still illegal). But I’d stopped my medication so they decided I lacked the capacity to decide to not be pregnant even though it was killing me. That’s exactly what Frank Bruno is talking about.

    The other problem is that things from the UK get taken out of context by the rest of the world because the UK diagnoses differently and the NHS now classifies cyclothymia as bipolar disorder and their statistics reflect that. Which means there’s a lot of undiagnosed bipolar disorder going on. This also means there are a lot of people over here who don’t have full blown bipolar disorder who are being treated like they do, by being given inappropriate doses of inappropriate medications and being refused non-medication treatments on the NHS. It’s like they put you on any old medication over here and as long as you’re taking any old crap they assume your bipolar is “in remission” and being “managed” even if you can’t do anything, and that attitude, I believe, is what Frank Bruno (and many other people) would like to see change. I don’t think he’s saying “you personally should stop taking your bipolar meds and try exercise” and I don’t think he intended to invalidate other people’s treatment if it’s working for them, I think he’s just saying “not everyone needs lifelong medication.” Which is actually the opinion of both psychiatrists I’ve spoken to but not other medical professionals eg GPs who do the long-term management over here and it’s not what the NHS website says about bipolar. So he’s right, it does need to change at the GP/nurse level.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Sorry I wrote too many things there. I’m looking forward to seeing the Stephen Fry documentary. He recently deleted his Twitter so I didn’t know it was coming out. Will look out for it on Youtube (iPlayer doesn’t work any better over here, or else it knows I don’t have a TV licence so treats me accordingly).

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Not at all, it’s just that these days, once I’ve written a post, I get rather speechless. Posting less often because of it too. Try hola.org to watch the programme mate.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Thanks! I’ll go check it out tomorrow when my Dearest isn’t having anxiety over it being the evening at the end of half term. There was some bitchy politics from his headteacher and he’s started getting panic attacks since.
            I was worried I might have come across as patronizing – I over-explained because I thought if anyone else was reading it they might have no idea what I was on about with the NHS (some people on WP who I read/follow/comment on don’t know what the NHS is and when they hear “free health care” they’re like “OMG wish we had that”) but then someone once commented on one of my posts with “in the UK people get free housing so why would you write a post about homelessness? We have *real* homelessness in America….” (with the whole “I read it on Wikipedia so it must be true” vibe). I replied that council housing was exactly the same (scarcity, quality, RENT TO PAY and safety) as the Projects, and that homelessness was shit whatever country it’s in, and they were a bit disappointed. LOL. Sorry I’ve gone off topic now but I thought it would amuse you.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I have a deep seated loathing of the NHS, despite having had *some* good care, I mostly had a terrible time on it. And I’m rolling my eyes at that homelessness comment too.

              Liked by 1 person

comment or the dragon will toast you

