bleached

bleached noise

At the height of my illness I
worked with such intensity that
the laundry baskets overflowed,
the dishes went unwashed,
the children and the groceries
had to be collected by someone else, and
I avoided all contact with the
outside world.

intensity + introversion = deviance

It occurs to me now that,
had I been a man, my condition
might have gone unnoticed;
my behavior might have been praised.
I would be merely a man
doing his job intently.

female + intensity + introversion = bipolar

And now the first rays of hope shine
as if in neon letters: RECOVERY.
I am praised for having tea with a friend,
for doing the school run,
for making a meal most nights,
for putting on a load of laundry
or hanging one out to dry,
for playing with the children.

What they don’t see is that
they’ve bleached me.
Clean, white, and…

View original post 27 more words

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

2 thoughts on “bleached”

comment or the dragon will toast you

