What To Expect When You’re Expecting… DEATH. Five Things You Should Know.

Thinking back on the far-too-many deaths I’ve witnessed, this makes a lot of sense to me. Better than Kübler-Ross.

talesfromthefamilycrypt

You’re probably heard of the “What To Expect” series of books that are pretty much the bibles on expecting a baby. The first in the series is a book considered to be one of the most influential books of the last 25 years and deservedly so as pregnancy was formerly a much not-talked-about topic. It was time to bring pregnancy out of the closet. (It was also time to do away with the godawful maternity clothes that came in one size — TENT — and in one style –BIG BOW BABY. Thankfully, that happened too in the last 25 years.) The books offered information on a topic very few people had ever been willing to discuss.

Well, I’m about to launch a similar and yet opposite end of the spectrum series. I’m considering calling it, as above, “What To Expect When You’re Expecting…DEATH.” (Can they sue me for that?)

My point…

View original post 870 more words

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

13 thoughts on “What To Expect When You’re Expecting… DEATH. Five Things You Should Know.”

  1. Whoa, no dragon toasting here. Thanks for the reblog. I sincerely hope we can open some doors and tear down some walls together. I’d love to help people avoid the pain my family experienced. While it was great fodder for my book, on the whole I’d rather have missed the horror and not had a book to write!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well at least you got a book out of it, I’m an editor whose reading, writing and speaking is beginning to decay as a result of the bastard bipolar. There’s amusement in it, but on the whole it’s just horrifying. So, yesssss let’s do it, let’s kick those doors and tear the walls!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post. It’s an extremely tough subject. It’s worse when you have a stubborn parent that doesn’t want to make decisions concerning a living will, what to do if he is on life support, the house, actually anything. I don’t want anything I just want to know what he wants. My sister is overbearing and will roll right over me even though I am closest to my father and know him best. I don’t want that. She’ll release his birds or kill them, sell his clock collection without knowing it’s worth and get rid of the dogs. These things will cause huge problems between us. I know he’s scared and he’s undecided about certain things but it has to be done. If I had anything I would do it.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve seen it happen so many times in families because they don’t want to talk about it. It’s happened twice in mine already. My mother and her brother didn’t speak for years after my grandfather died and my father doesn’t speak to two of his siblings because of my grandmother’s estate. It’s ridiculous. A waste of time that could’ve been spent loving each other.

        Like

        1. I have an uncle who sort of threw tantrums and suspicions at the first 3 deaths that both he and I were around for – until my mother (his older sister) died. At that point he became human, then retreated up his own silent and again. Some people’s priorities are so fucked up.

          Like

    1. I understand the stubborn parent syndrome. Don’t give up. Tell him of your concerns (without too much sibling bashing if you can) and plead for the information you need. Just explain you ask because you care about him and about his animals. Hang in there and keep pressing as much as you can. We let too much slide and our despicable siblings did a great deal of damage. Good luck.

      Like

comment or the dragon will toast you

