blogger recognition award

(scheduled post)

Grave news, dearest readers… I have been recognised, despite the false nose and the silly hat. And by that, what I mean is thank you very much, Leslie.

image

Blogger Recognition Award Rules:

1. Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
2. Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post. Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image above).
3. Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.

I love you all long time and this list isn’t a top 15, my scientific method here, in order to achieve the most equitable results, was to start off by plaguing Kitt and then to browse my blog feed and hoover up the other 14 in no particular order. No need for quality control, because I don’t follow blogs unless I like them.

And the nominations are… entirely irrelevant, because we’re already at the handing out the awards stage.

image

Kitt Oh’Malley, for having the luck of the Irish, despite her no awards policy. Also for being the most ardent stigma fighter around.
Robert M. Goldstein, for the steady flow of artcandy on my time line.
Jipsi, for bravery and sorrow.
Zoé gets the I wish I’d said that award for the following quote from her latest post, which I am going to steal for my about page.

“I’m the poster child for everything they don’t want bipolar disorder to mean.”

The Persistent Platypus, for having a way cool username (and header image) and a thing about alliteration. I can haz that too.
Menomous, for services to ellipsis and for emptying his head out into posts that always make me smile at the word skills. Stream of consciousness at its finest.
Assholes Watching Movies, for their astounding contribution to delightfully named blogs – and for writing bloody good reviews too.
Lost Ironies, whose voices tell her not to follow back, and for some beautiful writing – her latest post, for example.
Leo, for telling it like it is in a wonderfully articulate way, with brutal honesty. And for being older than me.
roughghosts, just for following me. All the way to South Africa. (I’m in a witless protection programme now.) Also, he was the first to comment on my about page. He despises awards, that’s why I’m awarding this one. Hah.
Angel of Struggle, for doing something I always wanted to – she blogs in rhyme. I’ll do some one day if I remember to.
Lard, for his undying devotion to world peace and sweetness, for his equally cute sidekick and for making me smile.
Two Fingers Two Cubes, for blogging the way blogs used to be blogged (as a journal), before we all crawled into our niches. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy in my niche, but it feels good to snoop through people’s diaries too.
Kids are gifts, whose son was cruelly stolen, and who retains her compassion and humanity throughout. Also, she blogs every day.
Shirley’s daughter, for being unselfconsciously herself, for the fact that her blog is her happy place – and for being an award free blog.

That was fun, I think I’ll harvest nominees this way in future. Increase your chances of featuring in my next list, by posting just before I write it. Except for Kitt, the only effort required by me there, will be coming up with new things to say each time. If you’re in an award free zone, please know that I’m totally not expecting you to do anything about this one (hope you feel appreciated anyway though).

Alrighty then, on to rule #2. “Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers.”

I got diagnosed, it shocked me rigid. I spent a couple of weeks reading sites and blogs and forums, I talked in one particular forum, which was incredibly helpful, but I needed more. This blog started off as a place to dump my research while I tried to make sense of my new label, I was also desperate to network, to find people I could ask for advice and so on. 15 years of blogging in various corners of the Internet taught me that a blog and the community surrounding it can be the best possible port in a storm. And this one is.

As for advice, it totally depends on what you want from your blog and what you want to give. Settling in with your tribe is a good start – read other blogs and comment on them. Forge some good connections. Be authentic, write whatever the hell you want to (flakiness is authentic too, if that’s who you are). Give what you want to get is a good rule of thumb. If words like optimise, maximise and monetise are running through your mind, there are a ton of tricks out there. Problem is, without good content and a genuine voice, the tricks ain’t worth shit.

image

This post was brought to you by verbose hypomania, menopausal night sweats and a woeful lack of sleep. Thank you for flying the unfriendly skies with Blahpolar Airlines.

*drops mic, hops off hypomania and goes for a nap*

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

18 thoughts on “blogger recognition award”

  1. Oh, wait a minute… “following you” does not mean showing up on your doorstep? Witness protection program, my ass. You live in a place that isn’t even on the map! No one is likely to stumble upon you by accident. And the knee deep potholes and endless Stop-Go’s are sure deterrent to anyone who gets too close. I’ll be back, save me a sunset or two. :)

    Liked by 3 people

      1. I’m a social media whore, so I do follow back, but that doesn’t mean I actually read all the blogs I follow. I use lists in the WP Reader of my faves. Do not read all my faves, either. Too many great blogs and talented writers.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I am indeed honored to be thought of for an award. I am also incredibly lazy and won’t follow through on lots of stuff. Also, my writing is mostly garbage and not worthy of award so my blog is award free. I do like the attention and greatly appreciate the thought.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. ASDFGHJKL;

    I just saw this now and I feel so warm and fuzzy and tearful and… ugh, you made me think of the wonderful people who have been with me on this journey and I’m overcome with feelings.

    BAASSSSSSSSS *whispers* I have love for you… muchly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The community of the strange and deranged, rearranged into a family. We’re cursed by bi-fucking-polar, but so fortunate in other ways. I promise I’ll still be friends with y’all when I’m cured of bipolar by troll therapy xD

      Like

comment or the dragon will toast you

