the bipolaugh linkdump

“A glance at the comments threads on any of these works reflects how much they’ve helped readers who relate feel less alone. But also, by choosing the traditionally “light” medium of comics, the authors make the dark themes more accessible to outsiders. An inherent reality of any mental illness, including addiction, is that “normies” just don’t ever seem to get it—which of course makes the sufferer feel even worse. So it’s gratifying to see the thoughts and feelings you couldn’t begin to articulate illustrated in a way that makes you say YES YES THIS. So much this. This is what I have been trying to say to you.”
How Can Comics Help The World Understand Mental Illness?

I, the curator of all things bipolar, have carefully selected for you, o best beloved readers, a collection of cartoons and comics. The word curator is there to let you know that they’re all my own subjective choices rather than a comprehensive directory. They’re not traditionally funny, they’re things to identify with and things to file as gallows humour.

Cartoons

Mental Status Examination: Depression and Mania Illustrated and by the same artist, Classification of Delusions.
Beth Evans (I love her toons)
Depression Parkour. (you know this one well). Check out the video playlist too…

Never Say it’ll All be OK – Julia Scheele (an awareness style toon about her partner’s diagnosis)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Webcomics & Graphic Novels

Look Straight Ahead (Canadian. Available as webcomic and hard copy.) Here’s the documentary about the author’s battle with mental illness…

Marbles: Ellen Forney (my favourite graphic novel about bipolar and probably yours too)

Psychiatric Tales – Daryl Cunningham
Depression Comix (the navigation is a pain in the ass, click the numbered images twice)
MS Paint Adventures (my review)

Hyperbole and a Half: Adventures in Depression – part 1 & part 2. (you know it, you love it, I do too). But wait, there’s more…

Bipolar Dragon (The layout is like a children’s illustrated storybook. Sadly unfinished, but beautiful.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And just because it’s lovely…

50 toons

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

33 thoughts on “the bipolaugh linkdump”

  1. That Depression Parkour…oh my…fucking funny..love the encouraging dance music and “you did it’s” and “way to go’s”. I need to feed my kids and then I’ll come and check out some more links. Thanks for so skillfully curating this list :)

    Liked by 4 people

    1. I’m glad for you and your mental health, I’d never heard of it. Did a Google image search and tbh I didn’t laugh. Spose it needs to be followed in a linear fashion. Anyway, it’s a lot better than your meatloaf. I haven’t decided whether or not that’s a euphemism.

      Like

      1. You probably would have to follow Bloom County for a while, but Opus the penguin is one of my heroes. He’s a sensitive booklover. I hope the strip is back for a while not just a one-off.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL…Yes, good job. Don’t pick a or b….make your own choice C.
      Gotta love that…except when my kids do it to me…
      ” Do you girls want watermelon or peaches ?”
      “We want fudge popsicles! “

      Liked by 2 people

      1. That comment was in response to sambrasona about the dragon.

        It looks kind of crazy in response to the post….or did you not notice because I always sound a little crazy and in another land?

        AnnieLand!.haha la la la la AnnieLand
        I can’t sleep. I have a tummy ache.

        So I am going to back to singing…la la
        AnnieLand…there is no pain in

        AnnieLand.and if you bring me pain I will kick you in the ass…la la la la

        Liked by 1 person

          1. :) Better today. I have no idea what was up with my stomach that night / morning. As if I don’t have enough problems sleeping…
            I have to go read your new posts. I think I am behind a little.
            Talk to you soon…but you already know that…:)

            Liked by 1 person

        1. I have always loved to create my own option C. Actually you may have inspired me a little because it is a distant memory that you ignited that I actually used to be good at that….before people made me forget.

          If I can get that option C power back, maybe I can survive this crisis. ..and it might also make a good post…
          Don’t mind however I sound..i was sleeping. ..having nightmares. ..i woke up afraid to go back to sleep and thought. ..

          ..Hey, Blahpolar and the dragon are safer…then I started writing this….ok gotta stop or i will keepgoing sorry..

          .midnight manic after nightmare thingy…

          you see why I don’t drink? I can do this all by myself. …

          Liked by 2 people

          1. That sounds like a worthy goal: remembering how to create your option C and of course it would make a great post. I think it’s worth however much effort you’re able to give it :)

            Liked by 2 people

  2. Have you mentioned Johnny the Homicidal Maniac, Squee, or I Feel Sick from Jhonen Vasquez? Must haves! :) Love your blog, btw. I’ve nominated you for the Dragon’s Loyalty Award.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Np, blahpolar. You’re in for a real treat. Vasquez is brilliant: Johnny’s got all the anger, Squee has all the anxiety, and I Feel Sick is a perfectly portrayed break down.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Great videos thanks for sharing! I especially like I had a black dog the one about depression! XX Private emails always welcome I live with dissociative identity disorder and PTSD. I write a blog chronicling my journey. Visit it at http://manyofus1980.me/ my facebook http://www.facebook.com/shirley.healy1980 Please check out my email lists Dissociative talk for people who live with a dissociative disorder dissociativetalk+subscribe@groups.io Blind mental health, for any blind person who also suffers from a mental illness blind-mentalhealth+subscribe@groups.io

    Liked by 1 person

comment or the dragon will toast you

