three quotes three days #1

Annie made me do it.

Three thrice throw thrum…

The meme is simple, write a post about three quotes; one a day for three days. Nominate three people to do a threesome the meme too. I decided to continue the theme by quoting three posts which include the word ‘three’ over three days (confused yet?).

Here’s the quote I liked first, along with the image I liked best…

image
Three things cannot be hidden, the sun, the moon and the truth.

… but quotes by Buddha are often erroneous and it’s always worth checking them on Fake Buddha Quotes (I can’t believe it’s not Buddha) first. Lo and behold, although it was a paraphrase of the original, the verdict was – fake.

image

Here’s the original quote…

Monks, there are these three things which shine forth for all to see, which are not hidden. Which three?

The disc of the moon shines for all to see; it is not hidden. The disc of the sun does likewise. The Dhamma-Discipline [dhamma-vinaya] of a Tathagata [Buddha] shines for all to see; it is not hidden. These are the three things.

source

image

My intention to wax lyrical about the fake (but elegant quote were cruelly dashed to the ground and thoroughly stomped upon. It’s probably just as well. If I didn’t have the fakery to waffle about, the waxing lyrical would have made me look stupid anyway. While I was thinking about it, I thought of a rebuttal that sounds like a riddle.

The sun is hidden at night, the moon is hidden during the day and some lies are never uncovered.

Take that, Fake Buddha, stick it in your prayer wheel and spin it.

Today’s nOMinees are brought to you by the letter S.

the spanglish one
the swinging
the strong one

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

14 thoughts on “three quotes three days #1”

  1. OMgosh! I wonder how many times the word ‘brilliant’ has landed in this little box. Lots and lots, I’m sure. Te brindo a big-ass thank you. This post was (insert synonym for brilliant).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Threesome? Damn, my mum was right, “Opportunity knocks once, but temptation leans on the doorbell.” Methinks thou art but a charming temptress, my beautiful darling. My wife wouldn’t approve of even the daydream. But it would involve champagne, or bourbon, or both. She’d laugh at me and tell me “You couldn’t handle all that.” I know a third quote, found here and attributed to Lincoln, Nietzsche, and St. Francis of Assisi, so you know it must be true. Or did Buddha say it? https://i.imgflip.com/81m9c.jpg ::runs back to the safety of his secret bunker::

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LOL Yes I did make you do it and what is worse I have not even written mine for today yet ! Since you wrote yours I had better get to it.
    I am feeling a bit like trashing a quote , I think I will do “It is better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all”
    I should have fun with that one.
    Coming soon to a blog near you “It is Better to Have Loved and Lost Than Never to Have Loved at All ” Really????????????
    Annie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. that is very funny …I can’t believe it’s not Buddha…Now I will be tormenting my daughter when I get the butter out of the fridge tomorrow. I will say this and be laughing and she will be all like…MOM ! …
      I can’t believe it’s not Buddha! HAHA
      MOM !!! Stop it
      I Cant believe its not Buddha
      “calls her sister ….Delenn!!!!!! MOm has gone nuts,, make her stop with the Buddha

      Liked by 2 people

comment or the dragon will toast you

