admiring miró

Dialogue of Insects
Dialogue of Insects

After I’d seen Dialogue of Insects at the Tate Modern, I kept my peepers peeled for more Miró. And since I lived in London then and Edinburgh later, there were some real ones about and prints and posters too. I did not purchase any Miró merch. And the only reason I didn’t title this post Miró Miró on the Wall, is that its already been done to death. I just felt I had to get that out there before I got accused of missing a bad pun.

miro4218Although my tastes usually run to sad things, there is a small segment of happy that I’m into as well, and Miró is a good example of the sort of style I gravitate to. It’s inner child stuff; not the poor kid who endured the childhood, but the safe kid that I look after now. I laughed when my first psychotherapist said I should hug my inner child, but he was right. Joan Miró is a way to do just that. Cheerful, bright primary colours, friendly shapes and I think my inner child would hug all of it back.

Woman and Birds at Sunrise
Woman and Birds at Sunrise – Mirò

During those years, i also tripped over Alexander Calder and immediately thought zomg it’s Miró in 3D. Again, in my twentysomething invincibility, I thought I was really clever to have thought so (lol).

The Star
The Star – Calder

For almost a half-century, the American sculptor Alexander Calder and the Spanish painter Joan Miro looked on each other as good friends. When apart, as they often were, they sometimes exchanged a letter or postcard of greeting. “A good smack on the butt for you,” wrote Calder in French in 1934. “A hug, kisses, and see you soon, you big stud,” wrote Mirò in Spanish in 1945. They liked to embellish the postcards. Mirò, for example, added underarm hair to the portrait of a Spanish dancer. A Miró-Calder Reunion

If I’d known that Mister Mirò was from Barcelona, I’d no doubt have been blathering on about Gaudi too.

Casa Batllo - Gaudi
Casa Batllo – Gaudi

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThere was a Miró on a plinth in a water feature thingy, at a Sotheby’s exhibition/auction at Chatsworth House in Derbyshire in 2000andsomething and I was with my mother around art for once. It was jolly (I’m sorry, art snobs, there just ain’t a better word for it) and if I remember right, had a yellow dustbin lid or similar for a face. There were a pair of old women in kagools (mhm this is Britain we’re talking about, of course it was pissing with rain. They were leafing through their list and nattering away in that accent that I surprised myself by falling in love with. Oh I like that Joan Myrow said one, giving the Joan a frumpy housewife vibe. (Nee sies, I don’t mean that kind of vibe.) They nodded and muttered and cooed. Itnwas one of those utterly, perfectly joyous moments and there was no way in hell I was about to look at my mother, because I could feel the grin and suppressed howls of laughter without doing so – and I knew we’d both crack up otherwise.

And thus did the famous Catalan artist, Joan Mirò come to be known to my mother and I evermore, as Joan Myrow.

20150429_204708-01Here’s my last little Mirò thing (apart from the gorgeously wonky embroidered version done by a local funky fibre project, why didn’t I buy it?). Tis but a silly thing, but so,e years ago, my mither arrived with a cardboard box and one of her widest grins. “I had to,” she chortled (she really did chortle), “wait till you see it, it’s just like the Joan Myrow!” And there was this daft kid’s lamp and it was just ome of the funniest and sweetest things she did, the delight radiated from her. And the Joan Myrow memorial reading lamp is on the little table next to me in the lounge. 99% of visitors see it and then their eyes go like this: @@

bleu-by-joan-miro-quote

No misery in any of my little Mirò memories, not much meaning either, if I’m honest, but I do not give a monkey’s. Sometimes even I just smile.

Explore more …

A brief overview of his life and work: Miró’s aim was to rediscover the sources of human feeling, to create poetry by way of painting, using a vocabulary of signs and symbols, plastic metaphors (an implied similarity between two different things), and dream images to express definite themes. He had a genuine sense of humor and a lively wit, which also characterized his art. 

This very interesting review discusses his political paintings and makes the claim that his truly great work was the Constellations series, and that all the rest was twee.

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

36 thoughts on “admiring miró”

  1. Me encanta! Viva el Miró. I love it and I love the quote comparing colours and words/poetry…just brilliant. I’m smiling like a fool :)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I do very much like his cheeriness. And I love that you share this side of yourself. Not all bipolars are completely miserable ;) xx

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Dy, it was a memorable day on all counts. I saw so many sculptures by so many great artists it was amazing. And my dog came too and was waved at by the then Duchess of Devonshire. She ignored the humans, which I thought was awesome.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. WOW – I LOVE that the Duchess noticed your dog and couldn’t care all that much about peeps! That is seriously awesome. What a fabulous-sounding day…I lived vicariously through you reading about it. :)

        Liked by 1 person

          1. p.s. Did you see you’re listed in this one? At long last I tried using the link function on WordPress. Now, I know it’s so simple & easy that Lucy & S. could do it, but for some reason I’ve been cursed. You should have gotten a pigback, I mean PINGback, am I right? Let me know if I messed up linking to your glorious blog! Notice you’re pretty much at the top of the list, of course. Oink oink!!!

            https://proudlybipolar.wordpress.com/2015/05/01/my-favorite-birthday-gift-a-book-deal-with-post-hill-press/

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I know pingbacks happen with individual pages and posts, no idea how it works for the main site url. Long story short, if in fact my back was pinged, I didn’t feel it. Thanks lots for the mention and once again – YAAAAAAYAYAYAYAAAAAY!!!!!!!

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Not sure about pingbacks one bit – I mean, I also felt smug because I scheduled the post to go up at 3AM, and guess what? Botched that. I thought I did it spot-on perfectly. WordPress doesn’t like me…..waaaaaaaaa! p.s. I mention you at any opportunity I get! Anonymously, of course! So mysterious!

                Liked by 1 person

                  1. *grin*

                    I do like WordPress way better than the other platforms I’ve seen (which is hardly anything) but I’m baffled at why the post didn’t go up @ 3AM. Perhaps I have a ghost, or a banshee, in the machine. (that’s plain-old bad, but “ghost in the machine” is a cool phrase, dontcha think?)

                    Liked by 1 person

              2. And of course dogs put those $/aliens (who try to pass as humans, but c’mon, Cruisevolta?? No WAY is Cruisevolta human! Rumor has it that he/IT ooozes neon green blood when injured!) to shame.

                Sorry for that confusing “sentence”, but you’re so freakishly brilliant I know you can figure it out. :)

                Liked by 1 person

  2. What a cheery post to end my shitty day (one of those days where every little things was f*cked up from the wire ring buried in the grass behind my garage that caused me to take a major flying tumble to arriving late for an appointment at the hospital and finding every single entry gate to the parkade malfunctioning!!!)

    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this artwork. I had never heard of Miro before, Thank you for introducing his work to us. That animated drawing made me smile the whole time.
    I am going to check out the others on youtube now.
    Yay !
    Annie

    Liked by 1 person

comment or the dragon will toast you

