a-z challenge: l

I’m all meh about finding one thing to write about, so for the third time in this alphabetical meme, I will just think of things I like that start with L and then just riff and then where relevant, I’ll go and grab you a song or something. It’s heavy on the music today, because I’ve been listening to a lot lately.

image

Sidenote: the poison pygmy is not fond of Metallica or Eminem. Smh … and I played mainstream stuff at very high volume just for her.

L is for lovely things: LOTR, Leonard Cohen, leather, love, lust, leopards, lammergeyers, lynxes, laughter, libraries, learning, leaning, listening … next up, some lasting memories.

Lyrical

image

Leonard Cohen – I don’t have to tell you about Field Commander Cohen:  (if you don’t like him, youre off my Christmas card list).
Love and Rockets – There was a man (I know, I know) in the States, who wrote a song for me and dedicated an album to me (we are talking very minor recording contract here, don’t get excited) who loved them and signed every email “love & rockets”.  I don’t know what colour your eyes are baby, but your legs are long and brownSo Alive
Lou Reed – I saw him and the (briefly re-formed) Velvet Underground at Glastonbury in 1993. See if you can spot me. Heroin,  and because that was low quality, here’s one of my favourites, Viciousyou hit me with a flower … (RIP Lou)
Laurie Anderson – first last and only resident artist at NASA. Lou’s bird. And this is so loving and lovely: Lou Reed and Laurie Anderson – Hang on to your Emotions (live)
Lemonheads – I saw them at Glasto 93 too – they were late because Evan Dando mouthed off at or made a pass at a United Airlines trolley dolly. Please don’t break my Big Gay Heart
Mark Lanegan – Screaming Trees, Stone Temple Pilots and more … a man with a voice like armageddon and his roots in the birth of grunge. Mark Lanegan & PJ Harvey Come to Me, burn your starry crown, my dark angel …
John Lydon – Johnny Rotten grew up to make mostly shite music, show his intelligence and compassion and generally bewilder the world. Public Image Limited – Rise
Lauryn Hill – So much class, so much talent – Lose Myself
Lenny Kravitz – I fell in love with his looks and – so many tears we cry, so much pain itside, but baby It Ain’t Over Til It’s Over
LifehouseFinding my way back to sanity again, though I don’t really know what I’m gonna do when I get thereBreathing (live). Magical times in Nottingham.
Lloyd ColeJennifer She Said, Paard Den Haag 2013 her name on you, Jennifer in blue … such a good song about tattoos, solo acoustic by the man himself who, I think, has aged well.

image

LOTR soundtrack – I once sat and listened to all three and I have the Rohan theme as my ring tone. The Horn of the Hammerhand shall sound in the Deep one last time!

Literate
Lord of the Rings (JRR Tolkien) No surprise there huh? You know the scene at Weathertop? It scared me shitless as a little kid and I still don’t love it. Tolkien writes about the cold and I feel it.
Primo Levi – A brilliant writer, an Auschwitz survivor, a sad suicide. Primo Levi’s Last Moments
“Primo Levi died at Auschwitz forty years later.” (Elie Wiesel)

This Be The Verse BY Philip Larkin

They fuck you up, your mum and dad.  
    They may not mean to, but they do.  
They fill you with the faults they had
    And add some extra, just for you.

But they were fucked up in their turn
    By fools in old-style hats and coats,  
Who half the time were soppy-stern
    And half at one another’s throats.

Man hands on misery to man.
    It deepens like a coastal shelf.
Get out as early as you can,
    And don’t have any kids yourself.

Laughable
Louis C K  Stand Up Comedy Full Show 2015  
Leonard Nimoy Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Earth (Tolkien link there too, he sings the Ballad of Bilbo Baggins.) RIP Mr Spock.

image
He lived long, he prospered.

LEGO Lord of the RingsThe Fellowship of the Ring FULL MOVIE, the other two are also there.

Look
LOTR! I have now managed to work it into each category. My favourite of the three is Two Towers. I think Peter Jackson did a sterling job and the only whinges I have are zomg wtf is Liv Tyler doing as Arwen? Couldn’t we have had a fine boned actress? Cate Blanchett as Arwen and Tilda Swinton as the ancient and ageless Galadrien would have made me very happy. Every time she kissed Aragorn, I became nauseous. Everything else was fantastic, it’s well worth getting the extended versions of the films, and a lot of the gazillion hours of extras that come with the boxed set are great to see.

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

44 thoughts on “a-z challenge: l”

          1. not a fan of the most recent SW, but doctor who – he just got better and better.. not a fan of christoper Eccleston, loved David Tennant and then hated but ended up adoring Matt Smith… Although I remember watching Tom Baker in the ’70’s and thinking no one could top him!!

            Liked by 1 person

            1. So far I only love the three original ones – I wonder what the upcoming one with the old cast will be like though.

              That loooooooong scarf still rocks. I wanted one then and I still do now. I like all the recent ones – Matt Smith least, but he does grow on one.

              Like

  1. Lots to love here: Lou, Leonard, Larkin and LOTR top my L list, along with all my great Lesbian friends. I shared my travel plans with some friends this morning and my mom last night. All think it is a brilliant idea, so watch out! :D

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great music and this time I knew and loved them all except for Love and Rockets, good stuff! (Cool about an album dedicated to you, even if not a big deal as you say:))

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Like the poem! Wonder how much shite I’ve passed on to the next generation? One cannot help but turn into one’s parents, no matter how hard we try! Roll on LotR part 3 (or is it 4 at this stage??)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was just reading about Leonard Cohen yesterday. I’m a tad sheepish that I don’t know much about him. Baaaaaah!

    I’ve just begun reading a book by Margaret Trudeau titled “Changing My Mind”. She has bipolar disorder, so of course I wanted to read her autobiography. In it she discusses her hippie pilgrimage to Morrocco in her early 20’s when she hung out with Leonard Cohen and evidently had a blast. She had wonderful things to say about him and his talent. :)))

    Enjoyed this post……but when don’t I enjoy a Blahpolar post? Ummmmm never!!!!!!
    If you ever catch me writing something foul here, it means I’ve gone to the Dark Side to join the $cientologists!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dyane. My dear comrade in arms. A woman of your incredibly advanced age really has no excuse to ignore Mister Cohen. I’d like to read the Trudeau memoir, I keep scanning *cough* places for it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey you – pretty please with ice cream on top and sprinkled with dehydrated $cientologist (ewww, gross, I know, even for me!) send me some good juju – I was totally bedridden this morning with fatigue for almost 3 hours, thought it was a virus or worse, which scared the shit out of me. At least I had Lucy cuddling up to my side; I LOVE that so much. You understand. I’m doing better now. Keep on scanning places for the book! ;) nudge nudge wink wink. I like Trudeau’s writing so far, & this book is supposed to be the main chronicle about her life w/bipolar – she has written 3 or 4 books, dang! Give my love to S. !!!! XO

        Liked by 1 person

        1. De$$icated $cientologists … you sprinkle that on my ice cream and then ask for juju (what is juju) harrumph. Sorry you’ve been feelingnso crap, glad nurse Lucy was on duty. Ja I’ll definitely keep an eye out. Not reading much atm, still busy with The Long Goodbye. And when I say busy, I mean that I haven’t looked at it in weeks.

          Liked by 1 person

comment or the dragon will toast you

