a quote about stigma

The stigma causes some patients not to seek treatment. Many families resist sending loved ones who are ill to get care. Patients suffer. Patients with schizophrenia die at a younger age than healthy people. In too many instances, patients kill themselves. Suicide is the number one cause of premature death in schizophrenia. Lives are ruined.

I’m frustrated by this. If someone suffers a stroke or a concussion, we say, “We need to get them help right away.” If a person suffers from cognitive decline later in life, we say the same thing. If a child has a reading disability, we say, “We need to do something about that.”

But if a 20-year-old kid has a psychotic episode, society wants to ignore him. Many mentally ill people end up becoming homeless or the victims of crimes and have nowhere to turn. The largest psychiatric treatment center in the United States isn’t a hospital. It’s the Los Angeles County jail. The three largest psychiatric centers in the U.S. are jails.

source

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

16 thoughts on “a quote about stigma”

  1. Reblogged this on Bitchpolar and commented:
    After doing some extensive research on schizophrenia and finalizing diagnostic studies, I have been learning so much more about this disorder than I ever expected. It’s hitting close to home as someone who means quite a lot to me is currently undergoing the diagnosis, although could possibly be schizophreniform (which is still so hard to go through).

    This is not something to ignore. These people need help. Stop adding to the problem; start resolving the problem.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Reblogged this on VOLATILE STABILITY and commented:
    Yesterday, this is what I wanted to say but I was too angry to say it. I was too angry to share that there was a seventeen year old in the lobby with his mother going on the carousel of failure like I was. A boy who had been marginally convinced by his parents that he was worth it — that there would be people who cared to help him — but he wasn’t being treated like that by those who were supposed to do the helping.

    Because sometimes people open the door and find an abyss on the other side. Because stigma exists in every corner of a person’s journey through recovery. Because we shouldn’t have to be one foot in the grave to be taken seriously or locked up to be properly treated.

    We are human beings. We deserve a full life. Just like the heart patient or the cancer patient — we deserve the best, compassionate care. This crap needs to stop. I hate seeing lives lost without them even having a shot at recovery. This is wrong and inhuman and sickening.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I would say that this is significant with bipolar too because so many sufferers are so high functioning when well. A couple of years ago there was a horrible case here where a man came home and killed a tenant, his wife, children and himself, leaving only his infant alive. It was shocking. But once they described him – he was outgoing, well liked but had changed careers several times (and I mean huge changes with retraining etc) all I could think was “bipolar”. It turned out that family had noticed changes but thought they would be able to pull through. I myself remember being wildly psychotic and thinking I would let it blow over and then read a few books to find out what was going on. It took an ambulance and the police to get me into care and diagnosed. No way I was going to seek psych care of any kind on my own, that was for “crazy” people. Not me.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I figured as much, it just made me think of bipolar because when mental illness appears, often with tragic circumstances involving someone who is a doctor or lawyer or something the stigma AND negative stereotypes act against a full understanding – even among extended family members because they don’t want to be tarred with the same brush.

        Reminds me of recently hearing someone talking about homosexuality in India. He said “When someone comes out as gay, the whole family goes into the closet.” Same could be said of mental illness, sadly.

        Liked by 2 people

        1. What an astute remark (the closet thing). The silence that greets me when I try to talk to certain people about it drives me angrily up the wall. People are so funking cruel in the name of ‘normality’.

          Liked by 3 people

comment or the dragon will toast you

