a posi+ive linkdump

Just because I’m sceptical doesn’t mean I’m right. It gets better, you got this etc etc. Ahem. Just to prove that I am still me, here is a video called the stigma of thinking positive. Now without further ado(n’t), here is the happy …

Here’s a great piece: Why a World Bipolar Day? Don’t forget it’s on the 30th.

Bipolar taught me that I’m a gift not a burden – a letter to bipolar.
bp magazine celebrates its 10th anniversary.
Stigmatized Schizophrenia gets a rebrand.
Beth Hart battled bipolar.
Bipolar has its upside, patients say.
The best things in my life from having bipolar – finding optimism.
This is what mental illness actually looks like. “Putting A Face on Mental Illness,” illustrates the humanity of mentally ill people—making them subjects, not objects of derision, scorn and misunderstanding.
Bill Oddie: my family values.

image

Life and work of Derek Hess examined in a new film.

“My hope is that the film inspires people to greatness through Derek’s life story. I also hope the film gives people with mental illness a bit of comfort in the fact that bipolar disorder is not a disease that has to make you a societal pariah, but rather a personal affliction that can be channeled as a gift, and can propel you into greatness. The film creates a strong link between creativity and bipolar disorder, I feel the film will help educate people on the effects of biploar disorder and how a diagnosis of the disease is not necessarily a weakness. But can be channeled into a gift and leveraged as a strength. Alleviating the stigma of mental illness through dynamic storytelling and a relatable subject.”
Nick Cavalier

The Harvard Bipolar Program leader, Dr. Sachs, says, “here’s your exercise program: go to the door, look at your watch. Walk 7.5 minutes in any direction, then turn around and walk home. Do that 5 days a week at least.” source

While it may sound surprising to put “bipolar” and “positive” in the same sentence, an analysis published in the Journal of Affective Disorders in February 2011 found that having bipolar disorder may enhance “certain specific psychological characteristics … that are generally viewed as valuable and beneficial morally or socially.” source

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

12 thoughts on “a posi+ive linkdump”

  1. Aside from teaching me to be more empathetic…I see nothing positive about my disorder. But then I am bipolar two so I get so few highs, I suppose it’d be a little ridiculous trying to find the positives and happiness in six to ten month long depressions.
    I admire people who can find positives in their illness. I’m not one of them.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. No, I’m not either. I’m very interested in people who do though, I’m fascinsted by their thought processes and what they value and don’t value.

      Like

  2. I’m right there with morgueticiaatoms…I hate bipolar one with every cell of my being, and if you ever catch me stating it’s a gift or I’m blessed with it, that means I’m manic and I’ve joined the Scientologists.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you join the Scientologists, in fact even if you tell me that a nice young man on the street offered you a stress test, I will speak to my Canadian blog friends about sending some Mounties after you.

      (Same here. Positive my ass.)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha ha! Thought of you last night when I flagged them on Craigslist yet again – they post every few days. What gets me is that the listing titles are so deliberately misleading – one is something like: “Stressed out? Anxious? We will help” YEP! That’s how they suck vulnerable people in, and there’s no mention of $. or Hubbard! That does it. I’m dressing as a $ for Halloween! No need to send the Mounties after me – seriously, if I ever mention a passing interest, call Craig. XO

        Liked by 1 person

comment or the dragon will toast you

