headsup: world bipolar day 2015

This will be my first World Bipolar Day as an officially diagnosed manic depressive. I’m so excited – I’m rushing out to buy a nice frock asap. I knew you guys would want enough time to do the same, hence the headsup. And if you don’t already have bipolar (or support someone who does), you can either adopt one, or get bipolar yourself half price for one day only! But wait, there’s more …

Ohhhkay seriously … the blurb:

“Join us Monday, March 30, 2015 World Bipolar Day (WBD) – an initiative of the Asian Network of Bipolar Disorder (ANBD), the International Bipolar Foundation (IBPF), and the International Society for Bipolar Disorders (ISBD) – will be celebrated each year on March 30th, the birthday of Vincent Van Gogh, who was posthumously diagnosed as probably having bipolar disorder.” 

image

The call to action:

“We are asking people with a lived experience, caregivers and the general public to submit a photo to us

Hold a sign, write text over your photo, or email the text for us to add, that says:
Lived Experience: “I am (something other than your illness) ” with your name (optional), and country
Caregivers: “I love/care for someone with bipolar disorder” with your name (optional), and country
General Public: “I support those who have bipolar disorder” with your name (optional), and country
Include a signed Media Release Form (permission to post your photo online) when you submit your photo – download the form.

If you enjoy things in a Facebook flavour, click this. The official Twitter account is here.

You can also grab the official WBD graphic there. I made my own quick, because I don’t cope at all well with their colour scheme.

Have fun kids, but remember – be careful out there.

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

26 thoughts on “headsup: world bipolar day 2015”

  1. Hmm, I wonder how many people who were born on March 30th have BP. A good friend of mine, BP type 1 was also born March 30th. Thanks for doing the research.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So much yes. March 30th is also my sister’s birthday and, when it comes up, she’s exceptionally vocal about how she doesn’t want me to kill or hurt myself because of my bipolar. Much of the time she screams it at me. I really, really appreciate it. I have a lot of people in my life who hinder my wellness for bullshit reasons, but I also have this awesome cheerleader who will throw a massive fucking tantrum when confronted with the idea that she and I won’t get to be old ladies together. She just won’t have it. Thanks, Big Sis!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Reblogged this on Marie Abanga's Blog and commented:
    Oh my, I never knew there was such a day. Hmm, is mental illness going to someday be treated as sympathetically as physical illness? Even HIV/Cancer/Ebola etc still rate very very high above the slightest admission of melancholia. I can’t wait for March 30th. And you my dear readers?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. This got me blushing/chuckling/well laughing: “And if you don’t already have bipolar (or support someone who does), you can either adopt one, or get bipolar yourself half price for one day only! ” Men, you can’t wish that on someone right? Ok now, I am doing this big time and reblogging this as in now.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh sweet,

        I just read ur comment and it made me laugh. Ha, I not daring enough already without getting fired at my job? If I add BD to my CV, I know for sure no employer is ever gonna look at it pass that. Em, unless he’s a BD gangster too :)

        Like

  5. I am so glad that I did not settle to define myself and everything I am with a bipolar label. Self discovery and the pursuit of eliminating a deep spiritual malady is a much harder path to take, but so worth the time and effort. Don’t give up…ever!

    Like

      1. I can only share my experience. Medication did what it was suppose to do. It flat lined my emotions and kept me in a medicated state. Diet, exercise and the pursuit of spiritual wholeness had a much greater positive impact on my life and mental well being. But that, of course, takes a lot more work and dedication. Never give in and never give up.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Too sober for that! (End of Feb = 6 months woooo!!!!)

        Maybe I’ll do a really wiiiild makeup look, you know, one half one way, one half the other way? Because I am a binary creature obv

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Dude. No. If you binary Bipolar Day ima beat you up. (Lies. ..) I def wanna see the wild makeup tho! And well done for 6mnths, that’s awesome! I think my neighbour is at 5, must find out.

          Like

comment or the dragon will toast you

