31 days of bipolar: day 11

31 days of bipolar meme

11. What resources do you recommend and why? (Books, documentaries, websites etc … anything at all.)

I’ve reviewed all of the books and documentaries I’ve read and watched, the info and links are all on my blog pages (eyes aloft, kids).

image

These are a few of my favourite things:

Books:
Anything by Marya Hornbacher (memoir & novel)
Ditto Miriam Toews (biography & novels)
Too Bright to Hear too Loud to See – Juliann Garey (novel)
Marbles – Ellen Forney (graphic novel)

Documentaries:
Boy Interrupted (trigger: suicide of teenager)
Madness Redefined: Creativity, Intelligence and the Dark Side of the Mind (incl Elyn Saks & Kay Redfield Jamison)
Stephen Fry: Secret Life of the Manic Depressive

Websites:
PubMed
Medscape
Google news & alerts
The blogs I follow
Pinterest

Misc:
My favourite song about bipolar is Krizz Kaliko’s Bipolar. I’m not sure how he came up with the name of the song, but what a stroke of genius.

image

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

17 thoughts on “31 days of bipolar: day 11”

  1. Reblogged this on twofingerstwocubes and commented:
    This thing always makes me think of all those cases where a supposedly happy person who has no problems kills themselves and everyone is, understandably, shocked. I think people think that depression means that you look and act completely miserable all the time, which isn’t the case.

    Like

  2. You really impress me how you can absorb all this info. I can not even read a book now and I used to go through several a week. I read half a chapter, put it away for the night….and by the next night I have forgotten all so need to start again. After weeks of reading the same few pages I just stopped trying.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I absorb it, but retain way less of it for any length of time (partly why I spew it here). Thanks though, and I hear you about rereading pages and giving up. I spent last year that way. Hope it improves for you :/

      Liked by 1 person

comment or the dragon will toast you

