Revisiting Resilience

Sorry to post yet again, but this is an awesome post. I need to read that book.

Out of a Great Need

resilience I am sharing a passage from the book Resilience.  I keep returning to it over and over again.  This is a quote by Sander (the author’s son) during one of their family’s public speaking engagement for mental health advocacy.  It deeply touched my heart and brought me to tears.

“I’ve always thought that the more sensitive a person is, the more susceptible they are to mental illnesses. A sick joke in our universe is that the more it allows a person to see its beauty and deep connectivity, the more difficult it becomes for that person to maintain good mental health.

In our culture, we tend to treat this tradeoff with a fierce double standard. As long as they are sharing with us beautiful insights into humanity, we will love and cherish them as heroes, but if they fall into substance abuse, depression or any other form of mental…

View original post 78 more words

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

4 thoughts on “Revisiting Resilience”

  1. Ok, so I have to comment about something silly, but I can’t help myself!

    I started reading “Resilience” and it’s very good so far.

    I tripped out when the author (Jessie Close) wrote that she moved literally four blocks away from the house where I grew up. She went to the same high school as I did (I HATED it and so did she! I need to write a post about that place – among other movies, part of the classic horror film “Carrie” was shot there, and that makes a helluva lot of sense to me!) I don’t want to spoil the book for anyone, but she does something at that high school (Palisades High) that makes it clear that the place sucked.

    It’s such a weird, small world sometimes. Jessie did some wild driving in my ‘hood, and I’m glad she didn’t have a run-in with my Mom!

    Blah, if you set up one of those Gofundme accounts, I’d donate $ so you could treat yourself to some books. I’m serious. Do it. Please! I’ve donated to total strangers on Gofundme, and I consider you a special friend who has brightened up my life so much. Think about it. Plus you’d pay it forward in writing posts for us about the books you read. Whaddya think?

    It could be the Blahbook Fund and you can blame the whole idea on me, a fervent fan. I don’t care if people think I’m crazy because of it, since most of them already do! Xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You’re lovely. And that’s wild about the Jessie Close coincidences. You could have had a close encounter of the Glenn kind. Sorry you had a shitty high school (me too).

      It’s just after 6am, dogs and I got back from the beach a little while ago. Still quite braindead. Xxx

      Liked by 1 person

comment or the dragon will toast you

