the bipolar beats linkdump

Music by and about bipolar people; also news, quotes and gifs.

Chris Brown‘s probation has been revoked (again).
“The rehab diagnosed Brown as bipolar and kicked him out for making comments about knives and guns during a group meeting, the probation reports revealed.”

image

Mary Lambert I’ve got bipolar disorder my shit’s not in order has been nominated for a GLAAD award.

image

Have you seen Next to Normal? It’s a musical about a suburban family, with a bipolar mother, started out on Broadway and won a Pullitzer. I haven’t seen it and I’m not sure I will (because musicals), but there are numerous full performances available on the Tube of You. Please let me know your impressions if you watch it, tyvm.

image

“It’s not just debilitating, It’s all-encompassing. It’s something you have to work on your entire life.”
source
“When people ask me what it’s like to live with bipolar, you just have to adjust and figure out exactly how you’re going to live your life the way you want to live it and achieve what you want to achieve. But you can only do that once you get help.”
Watch Michael Angelakos (Passion Pit) Discuss His Bipolar Disorder In New Mental Health PSA #strongerthanstigma

image

“My highs, my happiness are really high and my lows are very low and I’m not able to regulate between the two,” he said. “Through actual therapy and having kids it’s way more under control and something I can see when I’m on the roller coaster and control it more.”
Pete Wentz (Fall Out Boy)

How music might help bipolar kids and teens.

Australian, bipolar singer Sia has freaked people out with her latest video. (Having read the article, I won’t watch the video because triggers.)

Demi Lovato has been nominated a mental health warrior.
“Doing better with bipolar disorder takes work, and it doesn’t always happen at once.”

If your life has been missing a bipolar country and western singer, Jason DeShaw might be your man.
“The day before the show I was struck by a crippling depression which made me wonder if I could go on. With a little help from my friends, I chose to forge forth in spite of the heady fog and total self worthlessness that consumed me.”

image

Jaden Smith‘s latest lyrics are … odd …
“I’m just tryna spit some lyrics that are more insightful, But you just called me bipo (I’m not) And yeah that stands for bipolar, I’m thinking bout some solar panels but just wait til’ I’m older homie.”

Macy Gray
In a 2007 interview, singer Macy Gray was asked if she was ever diagnosed with bipolar disorder, she told the U.K.’s Daily Mail, “I used to be on medication, but I am not anymore, so if I was bipolar, I guess I am cured.”
In 2010, Gray spoke about how it feels to have the mental illness.  In an interview she was asked to complete the sentence, “Being famous feels like …”
Gray replied: “It feels bipolar. It just has very extreme ups and downs. It’s one thing and then another, and they’re always opposite.”
In 2013 she said she was cured “by will”.
In 2014 she blamed bipolar for losing hundreds of thousands of dollars

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

2 thoughts on “the bipolar beats linkdump”

  1. I love keeping up with music videos, and I honestly found the Sia one quite boring. The girl’s dancing is amazing but (imho) the music is lackluster. But awesome for Sia for her career. And the controversy is only adding views to the video, so whatever. Even better.

    I did not know that about the Passion Pit man. That band was THE BAND during my highly impressionable first year of college. Now I like it even more. I don’t have facebook, but I will share that PSA however I can.

    Thanks for the linkdump and info, it makes me feel like I’m included in some bipolar musician world (even though I just play trombone in big bands) (but it looks cool when you play trombone in a dress) (with mood swings on top of eighth note swing) (lol had to).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol!

      I don’t keep up in general tbh, I suddenly stopped feeling the need to – maybe because I’m already obsessed with so much music that I have no space left. Of course some stuff creeps in anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

comment or the dragon will toast you

