another effing linkdump

If you’re in the mood for another memoir, here’s Fat, Drunk and Bipolar – I haven’t read it, let me know what it’s like if you do. I might be the only person on earth who isn’t amused by the title btw.

Memoir of a bipolar student – My Body is a Book of Rules by Elissa Washuta (I haven’t read that one either).

And there’s Resilience by Jessie Close (Glenn’s sister). She’s bipolar I, rapid cycling & psychotic & mixed features.

Mental illness is a charnel house from which nobody escapes unscathed.
Roger Cohen – The Battle to Belong

Longread: My Lovely Wife in the Psych Ward

Latest addition to my manic depressive playlist is Daniel Johnston – I Had Lost My Mind – yeah you do know who he is, not only is he bipolar, he also did the cartoon for Kurt’s alien/hi how are you tshirt.

image

Allegedly manic depressive, try some Byron – if you’re an emo poet and haven’t read him, prepare to loathe yourself a little more.

In 2003, Anna Schuleit’s Bloom addressed the lack of flowers in psychiatric wards. Gorgeous.

image

Van Damme has come a long way since the first Kickboxer. He was divorced four times, charged with spousal abuse, and addicted to cocaine before his diagnosis of “rapid-cycling bipolar.” He now has the disorder under control. Van Damme explained: “You just have to take a little salt [the drug sodium valproate], and since I’m doing that it’s, like, BOOM! In one week, I felt it kick in. All the commotion around me, all the water around me, moving left and right around me, became like a lake.”

“It’s slippery slope, sometimes you don’t think you need any meds at all, and you forget your meds. Then all of a sudden, you get on a real ride.”
Michael Douglas re Catherine Zeta Jones

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

15 thoughts on “another effing linkdump”

  1. I pre-ordered Resilience” & it magically arrived on my Kindle at 11:59 last night….

    I spotted “Fat, Drunk & Bipolar” when it came out on Kindle and couldn’t resist sampling it – it has gotten five or six 5-star reviews so far, but I haven’t read my sample yet. Curious to see what you think!
    Call me crazy, but I like the cover portrait…Craig doesn’t. We all have different things that float our boat. :)

    Thanks for another groovy linkdup. I likey!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, dunno whether I’ll read any of them *cough* poverty ushers me seductively towards piracy and so I just read what is available. I’m with Craig re the cover portrait :)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I understand. In all honestly I’m being a very bad dog and charging Kindle purchases to my Amazon credit card, a very foolish decision on my part, but I loooooove buying books and the Kindle makes it WAY to easy for biblioaddicts like me!

        I should be only going the free route – I’ve done it before. But I have plenty of wicked rationalizations for my purchases :) (i.e. hey, at least I don’t spend money on booze anymore!) accompanied by plenty of guilt. :(

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Books are good things :) I read on my phone lol … so grateful to the digital world though. Hard copy books are stupidly expensive here. I bought marbles and 2 bipolar chicks though. Haha.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Excellent choices!!! Oh – did my silly email ever come through? It was honestly vacuous, but I’m just curious if you got it as my ISO doesn’t usually act up the way it did when I tried sending it the 2nd time. (The 1st time was my fault) Xx

            Liked by 1 person

  2. I love love love Daniel Johnston. Hi How Are You is an amazing album, as is 1990.

    I will check out these memoirs. I need more in my life. Last one I tried to read is called Manic, and is not very good (in my opinion). Maybe I can’t relate because it’s about a very wealthy lawyer who tries to hide her illness. I’m an unapologetic musician who lives off gig money. I felt the distance, ha. But maybe by the time I finish it I’ll like it?

    Liked by 3 people

comment or the dragon will toast you

