reclaiming the bipolar weather catchphrase

So this is an article about the perils of winter in Montreal; I snipped bits out of it to turn it into something that fits the word bipolar a little more accurately. I didn’t add or alter anything. Personally, if I had to compare bipolar to an element of winter weather, I’d go with black ice – no matter how carefully you walk, there’s always a big risk of falling. (He didn’t bother fact checking that last line of his, did he?)

Josh Freed: Good luck navigating the bipolar vortex

We have obviously entered a strange new weather system that I call:

image

The bipolar vortex.

With rapidly shifting bipolar conditions, you must adroitly choose the correct walking style for every moment:

the ice slither walk. In this manoeuvre, you never actually lift your feet from the ground while walking — you plant one foot flatly on the icy pavement, then slither carefully onto the other.
the minefield tiptoe, where you delicately place one foot down to see if it’s safe, then tiptoe another baby step, crossing the sidewalk like a soldier in a minefield.
the snowbank step-and-test technique, where you prod a snowbank with your toe before putting your weight on it. Is it rock-hard and slippery — or does it collapse into slush, shooting nine inches of water into your boot?

Those who walk incorrectly wind up in emergency wards that have been overwhelmed with concussions, frostbite and fractures in the last week — victims of bipolar winter combat.

DRIVING is also tricky in the bipolar vortex.

But this weekend, relax — the bipolar vortex is stable and on lithium for three days.

image

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

11 thoughts on “reclaiming the bipolar weather catchphrase”

  1. Hmm. My immediate reaction is to be very defensive. I am going to email this dude because I’m not sure if he really understood what he was getting himself into making this very subjective if not ridiculing comparison. I don’t take very well to those who use the “trendiness” of bipolar to “catch” people’s attention. I don’t think it would be ok to compare weather to cancer or cerebral palsy or whatever disease in the flippant way he did. However I have a feeling he won’t email back. If he does, I’ll let you know.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Still no response. I’m going to be nice and give him a couple more days and then I’m gonna tell him how I really feel. I googled him and he’s quite the accomplished writer and documentary film-maker.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What an idiot! This is awful. Of course, weather people are stupid for the most part. I have no problem saying that after watching them for years. I only knew one who even knew how to dress with style.
    My cousin wanted to be a weatherman and he actually displayed a picture of himself wearing a tin foil hat. True story. Hmmm.. ok still going to publish that part. He also is an idiot.
    He also cannot pass his CPA exam..bahahahaha oh my! That is not very acceptable is it? At least not in my family. Sad for him and his hat.
    Great post :) -CC

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Every single time I’ve emailed a journalist (both respectable and not-so-much) about bipolar-related stuff, I’ve gotten a reply that was fairly compassionate, which frankly shocked the shit out of me and it was pretty cool….

    While I’m tempted to contact Sloshy Joshy, I’ll wait and see what happens with La Panzona.

    p.s. I almost killed myself slipping on ice in Tahoe – I wore my Sorel boots, but I was ignorant of the fact that i needed spiky things on the soles.

    Liked by 1 person

comment or the dragon will toast you

