the bookquotevideosong linkdump

Books:
Kiss Me First describes how Leila, an awkward, computer-obsessed young woman, agrees to help a bipolar thirtysomething called Tess kill herself without detection by impersonating her online.Lottie Moggach

Leader notices interesting manic depressive traits: non-violence in sufferers who otherwise appear to be raging, a curious empathy and generosity, social and verbal dexterity in mania and a concomitant disintegration in the ensuing depression. Strictly Bipolar – Darian Leader.
Jennifer Niven’s ‘All the Bright Places’ Is a Rare Novel That Gets Mental Health Issues So, So Right. (A YA novel.)

At last, an interpretation of bipolar that has more than two faces (and no polar bears). This is Bipolar by J FLoRian Dunn of Phoenix, AZ.

image

Video:
Stephen Fry’s Best Quotes
Robot Chicken – Bi-polar Bipolar Bi Polar Bear
Knives in My Throat: Documentary About a Black Woman – bipolar disorder & suicidal ideation

Songs:
Downtown Strut – Bipolar
Charlene Soraia – Bipolar
Freestyle Rap – Bipolar
Jitta on the Track – Bipolar

Quotes:
“I have manic depression. I obsess over everything,” Pete Wentz
“I have a bipolar personality, I’m my own worst enemy. I have devils inside that fight me.”  Phil Spector 
“I’ve had an awful lot of highs and they were great. But the price I’ve paid for them is pretty tough to accept and I’m not — I can’t pay that price anymore.” Margot Kidder
I flirt with not taking it — but I’m not stupid, because every time I’ve gone off the medication, I’ve had a breakdown.” Maurice Bernard

image

I am not sure what the rainbow is for, since it only shows some states. Any ideas? Pity they didn’t call it bipolarainbow though. BaDUMtshhh.

Longreads: not bipolarish at all.
the itch nobody can scratch
the end of night
“Some people want me to be this warm and fuzzy person. All filled with friendly hermit wisdom. Just spouting off fortune-cookie lines from my hermit home.”
the strange and curious case of the last true hermit

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

27 thoughts on “the bookquotevideosong linkdump”

      1. I love novels, but I’ve been on a memoir kick (esp. bp ones and yeah, I need to let you know some of my faves for your blog’s book list – you have a lot of great ones on it)

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Another impressive collection of links and assorted stuff. I have been avoiding actually looking at what it means to be bipolar I think, having figured that I went through all that years ago. But I am in the midst of the bleak midwinter right now so tomorrow I will be screened over the phone for the mood disorder clinic. Not sure how I feel about the referral, perhaps as ambivalent as I feel about church.

    Like

      1. Not sure. Groups and access to social work I hope. I would have to give up my psychiatrist if accepted (if they think I am sick enough?). I am getting frustrated with my current psy doc. She did not send the letter requested by the insurance company until Dec 23 ( she went to hawaii and lost her passport, blah, blah, blah). I looked at the letter and suggested she proofread her work, it was almost unreadable. I think I have to look into this referral for the sake of insurance (though no one told me it was coming so I turned it down when they first called at the end of the year). I am having a tough go even though I have a party and a cool trans show to look forward to, it just seems like more opportunities to feel more alone.

        Sorry for the dump.

        Like

        1. I assume they have a pshchiatrist? Current psy doc sounds like she needs a whack round the head with a large fish. Unprofessional …

          Your lone tree and city photos are about loneliness?

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice post (as usual) no prizes for guessing that Pete Wentz is my bipolar idol – the smallest glimpse at my blog tells you that! Just wanted to share my favourite quote of his on bipolar, I find I relate to it a lot;
    “The hardest thing about depression is that it is addictive. It begins to feel uncomfortable not to be depressed. You feel guilty for feeling happy.”

    Liked by 1 person

comment or the dragon will toast you

