a nod to new year

I have no way of knowing how people really feel, but the vast majority of those I meet couldn’t be nicer. Every once in a while someone barks at me. My New Year’s resolution is not to bark back. – Tucker Carlson

image

And suns grow meek, and the meek suns grow brief, and the year smiles as it draws near its death. – William C. Bryant

image

I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes. Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re doing something. – Neil Gaiman

image

3 can’t fail ny resolution alternatives – funny, yet sensible and realistic too.
image
erika moen
image
image

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

9 thoughts on “a nod to new year”

  1. My only new year’s resolution is to try to continue with the goals I set myself after my life fell apart. Pick up the pieces, glue them back together and don’t make the same damn mistakes over again.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I keep making mistakes lately, which has been causing a lot of growing pains…because it’s difficult to surrender to the knowledge that you have to change yourself in order to survive in the world. Mistakes are scary to address.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on Marie Abanga's Blog and commented:
    A nod to the new year indeed! Alas am not the only one not looking forward to any resolutions this coming year. I’ll get up to each day as it comes, and do what I can without undue pressure – and this starts with my blog! No more routine – been there for a whole year and that should be fine for the new year!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Survive the new year!

    There are times I didn’t want to (actively tried not to) and times I really thought I just wouldn’t this year. But I did (knock on wood, it’s not done yet)! You did! :)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Really did LOL at “super depressed”! Reading your blog has been among the good bits of 2014. You have a great eye too for stuff which makes me laugh.

    Meanwhile, still barking. Still feckin’ swearing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Loved the “survive the new year”, though the first one to express that concept at its best was John Iring and the greeting of Hotel New hampshire family to each other: “Keep passing the open windows”. I often think that while I say anything else (like, say, Take care).
    You write so well, I like it. Haven’t had psychoses, but have had my fill of very, very bad trips (even when not taken anything, but assumed it was the drugs still in the system, as they can stay and recur for years). Not a merry moment. xx

    Liked by 1 person

comment or the dragon will toast you

