reinventing the wheel forever

Disclaimer: horrendous generalisations and pissy irritations.

I browse PubMed fairly frequently for the latest in cutting edge research into … zzzzzzz. Okay, the point is that if someone suddenly finds out that all lesbians resident in South Africa with bipolar disorder are magically cured at age 50, I want to know asap.

Mostly I find out stuff like …

Possible markers:
Sleep dysfunction.
Amygdala response to sad faces different in bipolar people.

We know. We’ve known, in some cases, for fecking centuries. Some stuff that comes up as results was known in the 2nd fecking century. Apparently we need more proof – and the benefits of ongoing evidence would actually work better if the poxy professors didn’t write as though they had just discovered it.

Or stuff like …

We don’t get enough advice re stopping smoking. Okay LOL because in general, I and people I know have frequently been told not to stop till we are stable. Stable? Ha. Not one mention of that (completely legit) notion, however. Why the actual fuck though, are they producing info like that, instead of looking into how to help us.

Have a look at fellow blogger the schizophrenia experience project for further illustration of this kind of thing.

image

Water is wet: a conceptual framework and systematic review of the aqueous properties of H2O.
(People in ivory towers et al. Idk who Al is, but he crops up a lot in these matters.)

Abstract (no kidding!)

Introduction: definitions of water and wet, plus at least one compelling reason why we urgently need clarity on the matter.
Objectives: to prove. that water. is wet. This section must contain as many extraneous words and repetition as possible.
Methods: blah blah clinical trials blah research blah blah raincoats.
Results: outcomes of the above containing numbers, percentages, averages and a few words (big ones please). Also, hydrogen.
Limitations: why the results weren’t actually useful, with special emphasis on why the funding was completely justified.
Conclusions: what a fantastic study. We should totally study this in greater detail. Brb applying for grants.

Don’t worry, the part where they thank Richard Dawkins, God, the budgie, grandma etc is in the full text.

image

(It seems like such a simple statement, but there’s plenty of debate about whether it’s true. Get irritated over here.)

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

18 thoughts on “reinventing the wheel forever”

  1. Damn, this post pissed me off. Especially re: smoking. I don’t smoke anymore, but when I have been in the psych ward they really hammered that point in. Maybe they were hip to this new research?

    God (science) help us.

    I am in a rather unforgiving mood. My Latuda just made me vomit all over my bed, and my Topamax has made it unable for me to eat again (and I have to take my pills again).

    Research this (flicks off science). lawl.

    Like

  2. “if someone suddenly finds out that all lesbians resident in South Africa with bipolar disorder are magically cured at age 50, I want to know asap”…same for 51 year old Toyota-Sienna-minivan-driving housewives with bipolar disorder who live in South Orange County, California. South of Disneyland the wives are richer, bleach their long tresses brassy blond, and get lots of plastic surgery; although, honestly in Mission Viejo, where I live, the moms are more concerned with their kids, soccer (to everyone else in the world, football), and Little League baseball. We mother intensely here – poor kids.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I didn’t know about the smoking aspect. I am going to look into this further for understanding. Great post, I am pissy for ya!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “if someone suddenly finds out that all lesbians resident in South Africa with bipolar disorder are magically cured at age 50, I want to know asap”… Cured of what? Bipolar or lesbianism?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. When I was hospitalized with my first manic psychosis in my 30s, I was raving about my sexuality, certain the lifetime of gender crap I had fought down meant I was a lesbian. The doctors assured my troubled ex that with the right meds all of this would go away. Stabilized it became clear that I was not a lesbian after all. I was EVEN MORE QUEER. And over 50 I still am. And bipolar too.

        Of course I don’t live in South Africa, so your mileage may vary.

        Like

        1. You’re the jedi master of bipolar to me.

          I’ve always been comfortable being a dyke – I think I’m v fortunate on that count.

          I didn’t sleep last night – so I keep nodding off this morning

          Liked by 1 person

          1. You know, sometimes I wonder if my mood disorder distorted things and that dyke is a path that I should have explored with more depth. But then I remember how far back the gender dysphoria goes (childhood), the fact that once I was stabilized things were clearer about feeling male and that ongoing attraction to other male/masculine folk.

            But I did fool myself to think that transition resolved my bipolar because I was well for so many years. That blow to the side of the head this year has been some wake up call. Seems I am destined to be queerly bipolar…

            Like

  5. Dyke … dude … whatever … ;) I remember being about 7 and being stoked whenever I was mistaken for a boy, or even called a tomboy. My hero was, of course, George of the Famous Five. Somehow it didn’t occur to me to be feminine till I was around 15 and the experiment didn’t last very long.

    Clearly queerly bipolar too! :)

    Plus, you could always write an academic paper about transitioning as a bipolar cure/not cure.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. We are the famous fivvvvvee, Julian, Dick and Anne, George and Timmy the dog……. Loved that show…!! Perhaps they should look into and research why bipolar patients from all over the world (well, two places!!), just love that show….. Did it turn ‘normal’ people into bipolar madso’s!! I just called myself a patient!!! Freudian slip, or acute observation???!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

comment or the dragon will toast you

