Bipolar Roundup 5

… please stop using the word “bipolar” to describe the weather or your weird professor or your parents. Stop using the word “bipolar” to describe anything other than a person who is bipolar and who has expressed to you that they are bipolar. The weather is not bipolar — you are simply ignorant.
Let’s stop calling the weather bipolar

Negative life events, such as loss of employment, relationship, or close friend or family member raised the risk of depressive relapse, but so did positive events such as a new relationship or job.
source

However, I wonder if any young woman feels like marrying a man whose mother has such a disease. I’m afraid her parents would absolutely oppose the marriage.
I’m scared my bipolar disorder will affect my son’s marriage

Last month, Anna Fels wrote in the Sunday NYTimes suggesting that lithium be added to the drinking water because trace amounts of lithium are associated with lower rates of mental illness, violence and suicide in particular.  What she didn’t say was that communities with naturally-occurring lithium in their drinking water enjoy greater longevity as well.
lithium for life extension

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

15 thoughts on “Bipolar Roundup 5”

  1. Lithium has been made to seem the enemy when it so is NOT! shame on people who have done so. The fact that this has been one of the most effective drugs and yet doctors do not know it’s method of action is also quite sad (could have led to better drugs). It’s been in practice for over 50 years yet no answers. I wish I could take it, I’m just worried about the kidney impact otherwise I’d be a lifer. here’s some interesting reading for ya in case you haven’t already read it :P

    http://www.healthcentral.com/bipolar/c/15/171963/history-wondering-prescribed

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You tell em’ girl!!!!
    Can ‘they’ also stop telling those of us who struggle every day to ‘pull ourselves together’!! That would be a great one…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hate, hate, hate when I am engaged in this sort of conversation:
    ——
    Other Person: “oh my [friend, family member, neighbour…whatever] is so bipolar one minute s/he is okay and then for no reason s/he is crying.”.

    Me: “Oh. So were they diagnosed or-?”

    Other Person: “Oh no. I don’t mean they are actually bipolar, like crazy bipolar, they are just so moody all the time. You know?”

    Me: … -dead silence-

    Meanwhile, in my head: “No I don’t know. And I while sometimes I feel like I’m losing the plot, I don’t think it’s fair to insinuate that people with Bipolar Disorder are “crazy”. Mental illness does not eq

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi. I wasn’t able to response in our conversation last Sept 11 via Gmail. Anyway, thanks for this kind of article. People should realize that we are not Bipolar, we only have Bipolar Disorder.

    Like

  5. I don’t let most people know I am bipolar, because the times i have done so, it has totally backfired. It’s sad to open up to somebody you think you can trust, but their negative perception of bipolar makes them think you’re crazy. I told my boyfriend’s stepmom about my bipolar because I felt okay about it in the context. Then she told my boyfriend’s dad, who then called him to ask if he ever feels like he’s in danger around me. -_-

    Liked by 1 person

    1. :( Yep it is a conversation stopper for sure … and there are so many who don’t get it. It’s why I started my blog but even *I* can’t seem to be 100% honest, even in that forum!

      Like

  6. And while we’re at it I request that the media stop using the word ‘schizophrenic’ to describe the weird greed based fluctuations of the Stock Market. Were the stock market actually symptomatic with Schizophrenia it would be homeless..

    Liked by 1 person

comment or the dragon will toast you

