Lithium Quotes

This from my psychiatrist:

We are winning with the bloods. Your latest test is 0.69
Can we increase by another 250mg? Should be our last increase, but we will check it in 5 days in any case.

Quotes:
Lithium tweaks many mood-altering chemicals in the brain, and its effects are complicated. Most interesting, lithium seems to reset the body’s circadian rhythm, its inner clock. In normal people, ambient conditions, especially the sun, dictate their humors and determine when they are tuckered out for the day. They’re on a twenty-four-hour cycle. Bipolar people run on cycles independent of the sun. And run and run.
Sam Kean, The Disappearing Spoon: And Other True Tales of Madness, Love, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table of the Elements

Of all our conversations, I remember most vividly [Robert Lowell’s] words about the new drug, lithium carbonate, which had such good results and gave him reason to believe he was cured: “It’s terrible, Bob, to think that all I’ve suffered, and all the suffering I’ve caused, might have arisen from the lack of a little salt in my brain”.
Robert Giroux (1914- )

Some of us take lithium and antidepressants, and most everyone believes these pills are fundamentally wrong, a crutch, a sign of moral weakness, the surrender of art and individuality. Bullshit. Such thinking guarantees tragedy for the bipolar. Without medicine, 20 percent of us, one in five, will commit suicide. Six-gun Russian roulette gives better odds. Denouncing these medicines makes as much sense as denouncing the immorality of motor oil. Without them, sooner or later the bipolar brain will go bang. I know plenty of potheads who sermonize against the pharmaceutical companies; I know plenty of born-again yoga instructors, plenty of missionaries who tell me I’m wrong about lithium. They don’t have a clue.
David Lovelace, Scattershot: My Bipolar Family

It’s difficult. I take a low dose of lithium nightly. I take an antidepressant for my darkness because prayer isn’t enough. My therapist hears confession twice a month, my shrink delivers the host, and I can stand in the woods and see the world spark.
David Lovelace, Scattershot: My Bipolar Family

Without medicine, 20 percent of us, one in five, will commit suicide. Six-gun Russian roulette gives better odds. Denouncing these medicines makes as much sense as denouncing the immorality of motor oil. Without them, sooner or later the bipolar brain will go bang. I know plenty of potheads who sermonize against the pharmaceutical companies; I know plenty of born-again yoga instructors, plenty of missionaries who tell me I’m wrong about lithium. They don’t have a clue.
David Lovelace, Scattershot: My Bipolar Family

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

9 thoughts on “Lithium Quotes”

  1. I just realized yet again how terrible my doctor is. Started lithium last year. Had one level done ten months ago. None since though I have been exhibiting manic and depressive rapid cycling behaviors. Thanks for reminding all too much how important these tests are. I could be low or high. I don’t know. But with him you really have to be your own advocate. I haven’t even seen him in his office in five months, and I’ve moved, lost family and friends, been in and out of relationships, started school, done all the great changes for better and worse and he has been nowhere. Impossible to track down. Semi-retired. Some ghost who okays refills. I have to be brave enough now that I am in a town with more resources like NAMI to reach out for adequate health so I can be my best self. Not just barely making it.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I found that first quote interesting about the 24 hour cycles. My son has been sober for 6 weeks or more and all of the anxiety/mood issues still exist (of course that is what he was self medicating). But his sleep is way off, he tends to sleep every other day and is eating irregularly. I thought quitting drinking would help a lot but the illness is still there.

    Like

  3. All this time I had no idea about the circadian rhythms and the sun cycles. That is so interesting to me and makes so much sense. Wow. Thanks for sharing this. I try not to miss your stuff. It is always great. Hope you are doing much better with your lithium now. -CC

    Like

comment or the dragon will toast you

