Take Your Damn Meds

By the time I was diagnosed with bipolar, I was already meds compliant, having been treated for PTSD and depression for a couple of decades. The more I read about bipolar, the more sure I am that obediently swallowing pills (I have a psychiatrist I trust), is essential.

I rounded up some quotes about being bipolar and taking your meds.

I take my meds. Number one, two, three, four and five is that I take my medication.
Marya Hornbacher

Love is not enough. It takes courage to grab my father’s demon, my own, or – God help me – my child’s and strap it down and stop its mad jig; to sit in a row of white rooms filled with pills and clubbed dreamers and shout: stop smiling, shut up; shut up and stop laughing; you’re sitting in hell. Stop preaching; stop weeping. You are a manic-depressive, always. your life is larger than most, unimaginable. You’re blessed; just admit it and take the damn pill.
David Lovelace

Every pore of you is crying and you don’t even understand why or what. I actually kind of died and got born again as a result of taking the meds and having a chance to, you know, build a life.”
Sinéad O’Connor

“Suddenly I wanted to get better. Mania wasn’t fun anymore. It wasn’t creative or visionary. It was mean parody at best, a cheap chemical trick. I needed to stop and get better. I’d take whatever they gave me, I pledged silently. I’d take Trilafon or Thorazine or whatever. I just wanted to sleep.”
David Lovelace

There were a few things scarier than a bipolar vampire off his meds, but to be honest, not that many.

Rachel Caine, Daylighters (The Morganville Vampires, #15)

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

4 thoughts on “Take Your Damn Meds”

  1. I was med compliant but had gradually reduced my meds after so many years of stability and I became manic. Stress was a big part of it but I keep beating myself for a) cutting my dosage and b) not recognizing the signs. I wonder how many chances you get to start over and make it right?

    Great quotes. But I still keep forgetting one or two doses a week. You would think I have it down by now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Forgetting my meds… hmmm. Man, it’s a no-drug-drug. It isn’t intentional, but by day three, I am in that destructive space where I question the need, because it feels good to feel… I want to CREATE, clean, dance, drink and be merry.

    By day four, I want to peel my face off, rip the world to perfectly straight shreds. Time to extinguish the fire.

    I am addicted to non-addiction, or the rose-tinted vision of it. I accept, 90% of the time (when I am not remembering life before the 28th year), that this is it. If I ever get the chance to live the life I need, I get to reconsider, but not now, not for a very long time. How the war was started means nothing… survival is all.

    Like

comment or the dragon will toast you

