bipolar roundup and my reactions

I’m totally procrastinating stuff. And I blog so much to avoid thinking. I used to play a game on a tablet when my head was too hellish, but then the tablet died. Urghhh. Doing ok on the whole, with holes in it.

What it’s like to live with Bipolar II disorder clickclick

It’s not considered manly to confess to mental illness.

Fuck that. I make it manly and I have a vagina. Rawr! BIPOLAR, bitches!

Type 2 diabetes adds to hospital mortality risk in bipolar patients clicketty

I honestly and sincerely don’t mind all of the things about bipolar that shorten and threaten my lifespan. I don’t want to live till I’m 102. I don’t have a wife and kids – I always thought I would by now, but I’m okay with just me and the dogs. At the back of my mind is Dignitas in Switzerland if it ever comes to that. It makes enjoying the here and now a hell of a lot easier. I have no god and afterlife beliefs.

Ad body rejects complaint against Teazers cleek

A psychiatrist had complained about a billboard on Rivonia Road in Sandton, Johannesburg, advertising the strip club. It depicts two women in leopard print lingerie posing around a pole. In large white letters it has the word “BIPOLER”, and the Teazers slogan “The Teaze Without The Sleaze”.

Couldn’t find an image, but here’s more proof that they’re sleazy fuckwits.

image

Blergh vomit. And in my own country too *scowls*

How Realizing Her Bipolar Was A Medical Condition — And Not A Spiritual Failing — Helped This Woman Heal clickit

Oh look, a butterfly.

At war with mental health: Wife of bipolar soldier worries he could get worse behind bars clickhere

Poor guy didn’t know he was bipolar when he cracked up and smacked a superior officer. Hope the 15 days in jail doesn’t freak him right out, at least it isn’t long. I’m wondering whether I’d trust myself to join the army – I think not. I usually want to smack people who give orders – but that’s me, not bipolar.

Express LOL: Why Team India suffers from ‘bipolar disorder’ dontclick

They’re talking about cricket. Fuck offfffffff. Proud to see that the one comment on it is negative and by a South African.

Brain imaging could assist bipolar depression diagnosis clickhere

\o/
Imagine all the time and angst and misdiagnosis and mismedication and suicide attempts and sadness and rage that could be prevented *fades to a wobbly soft focus*

image

Bipolar Disorder and Julia Child, My Therapist clickhard

It does not surprise me in the least to hear that Julia Child is in the bipolar recovery toolkit. I looooove watching her. Of course, irl I’d have quivered and run screaming. Formidable! And how’s that for the most randomly awesome google image result? I’m going to try and work it into conversations as an expression of shock/surprise; Julia Childs in a bathtub!!!! The exclamation marks will be audible.

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

8 thoughts on “bipolar roundup and my reactions”

  1. That first article hits home (and bipolar II does not sound any less severe than the variety that those of us who might have had a psychotic moment or two have). What strikes me is how he says he thought his erratic behaviour was a character flaw, he just had to get control. That is so true, it is hard for us or others to recognize that this is an illness.

    Like

    1. I’m bipolar ii & psychotic features. And yes re the character flaw thing. I’ve been slowly googling “bipolar” plus stuff I always thought was just … me … to see what traits could possibly be linked. And btw how did the roadtrip go?

      Like

      1. I guess I am not sure about the difference between i and ii then. It’s not like they give you a certificate of achievement. The trip was good but tiring. It’s a weird tired these days – bone tired from the neck down, numb and distracted but not sleepy from the neck up. I think it’s my version of depression.

        Like

        1. I think “with psychotic features” can be added to quite a few things? Glad the trip was good, sorry about the tiredness though – I think I know what you mean … gawd, how does one ever know what is a feeling, what’s a symptom and what’s a side effect? I keep asking that, I know. I guess you have a hell of a lot of recovering to do after so much mania :(

          Like

  2. “Fuck that. I make it manly and I have a vagina. Rawr! BIPOLAR, bitches!”, You are awesome, just sayin’

    Like

comment or the dragon will toast you

