It’s lithium time

Trigger warning: picture of Hitler.

After an exhausting and exhaustive period of research, I’m going to try Lithium next. While I was in the throes of the aforementioned research, I tried hard not to tell anyone that my willingness to give Lithium a whirl was influenced by the fact that Kurt Cobain (rumoured to be bipolar himself) sang a song about it.

idk how to embed a video using the wp android app, sorry

I mean, that’s a rather whimsical attitude, isn’t it? Anyway, the choice was made after doing a serious amount of reading, canvassing a sizeable group of bipolar people and discussion with my psychiatrist. See, sensible!

It might be genetic though, because when I told my nextofkin that Lithium was on the shortlist, he said Lithium – like Nirvana.

image

You gotta get your kicks where you can.

Since I’m tracking this whole journey here, let me record that I’m starting with three days on 250mg, then five days on 500mg. After that, blood tests to check lithium level, kidneys and thyroid.

So farewell Seroquel, you hunger-stimulating little beast … farewell urge to eat like Pacman!

image

I’ve mailed back to ask how the transition works. I don’t know whether I’m keeping or losing Citalopram.

image

Isn’t that the most bizarre meme? The words are, however, true.

This is kind of a nothingy post hey? Lol.

image

Published by

blahpolar

battlescarred, bright, bewildered, bent, blue & bipolar

11 thoughts on “It’s lithium time”

  1. I’ve been medicated since the age of 13. From 20’s to late 30’s unmedicated. This time round (4 years now) nothing seemed to work. That is, until Lithium. Oh my sweet friend. I lead a remarkably changed life. It got to my thyroid but you just take little tablets to regulate that. You do pick up weight, but realistically speaking, which is worse – having a buddha belly or going insane? And you’re right, Nirvana sang to its mysteries as well as Evanescense, also called Lithium. I will never stop taking it. It changed my life

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good to hear – I’ve managed to control the buddha tendencies on seroquel – I’m told lithium is less weighty than it – grrr it better be ;) thanks tons for the encouragement *hands over the medal of st carrie fisher*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck with the lithium. Seroquel is NOT a maintenance med for bipolar unless you have mixed schizophrenic symptoms. I would guess it was used to help slow you down. I hated my stint on it. Lots of folks do well on lithium but my poor doctor did not know how to manage it and I was terrified of becoming toxic. When I finally found a psychiatrist she put me on Epival (valproate), a seizure drug. It has been a good fit. My problems came when I cut my dose back after more than a decade of stability with my doctor’s approval and then shit started happening at work until it pushed me back into mania. It’s a balance between efficacy and side effects.

    I was never much of a Police or Sting fan but his “Lithium Sunset” is another must listen and, of course, the classic Hendrix “Manic Depression”.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks lots. I’ve been on seroquel twice (first time as part of effexor withdrawal, second to work on cptsd & had been having psychotic symptoms). Hate it a lot. Hope you’re doing ok again now? Did you want to see if you could get by on less after a decade? Was the stability still good quality of life? Thx for the song titles too.

      Like

      1. I think that over time you just think about the effects of medication on your whole system. Emotionally a full dose of psych meds, made me feel a little numb and less creative, I wanted just a little more edge, you know. The problem is that life sh*t can’t always be controlled. Keep in mind too that I am older than you and I also take a cholestrol med as well as testosterone (as FTM). Otherwise the valproate is a good balance for the moods for me. Seizure meds are often effective. I think they have caused me to develop tremors but I can live with that, it comes and goes.

        Every bipolar person is different, I tend to run to the up side. I have only been severely depressed once, my down side is tired and anxious more than the real emptiness some people have. My serious manic psychosis peaked in late June and I left work but did not go into the hospital this time. I’ll be off work for a long time (if they ever have me back) and I still feel so physically exhausted, like I had major surgery.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. *adds ian dury – manic depression to soundtrack*

          Thanks for the v thoughtful replies, mr ghost. How old are you, if you don’t mind me asking?

          Seroequel side effects … I tend to say it’s the weight thing, but it isn’t just that. I can handle the extra rls etc too, but feeling like I can’t breathe last thing at night is a frightening and claustrophobic thing and (ergh) bedwetting is not only horrible, it also just triggers way, way too much childhood stuff and causes me more than discomfort, I think.

          Onwards!

          Sorry about your exhaustion – I hope that you find your way through it safely.

          Like

          1. I am 53, turning 54 later this year (eek!). I was diagnosed in 1997 even though I can trace the mood swings and mild psychotic (“visions”) back to childhood and there is certainly a strong bipolar tendency throughout my dad’s side of the family. Things hit a crisis point for me when I decided to have children. I had thought that would put this feeling of being born the wrong gender to rest because, trust me, there were no female to male role models in the 1960s. Having kids brought everything to a head and I went through some pretty rough years trying to make sense of things. Eventually I went right over the top – full manic psychosis. Of course in the hospital they saw my gender dysphoria as a symptom of the psychosis but once I stabilized, it stayed. My marriage ended and I started transition at 40.

            Although I don’t generally share this with those who don’t know my past, I think I believed that transitioning was the key to my conquering BP disorder. I raised my kids on my own, built a career until I was in a management position. It has been very humbling to realize that I can get so dramatically sick again. The good side, if there is one, is that I now have time to do some emotional housekeeping. I can see now that I was burning the candle at both ends for quite a while. It’s a wonder I didn’t crash sooner.

            Like

comment or the dragon will toast you

